My mothers Choice Review

Product details

  • Author Ali Mercer
  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Bookouture
  • Published 29 July 2020
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1838886923
  • ISBN-13: 978-1838886929

Buy Links:       

Amazon: https://geni.us/B086T61VF1Social

Apple: https://apple.co/2wk3G9Z

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2xdGeMb

Googleplay: https://bit.ly/2UVLTjb

Description:

‘A heart-wrenching drama… an emotional rollercoaster with twists along the way… I read this in four hours and I know you’ll be hooked too.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Nobody talks about my mother. Absolutely nobody. I have no idea what she was like. I’d always thought they kept quiet about her because they were sad. But what if it was because they were guilty?

I watch them at the school gates, all the mothers with their daughters. I see the hugs and all those thoughtful little adjustments to scarves and ponytails. How their love seems to overflow, they have so much of it to give.

And then I walk home to my aunt’s cold house, where there are a hundred rules for me to follow and only a single photograph of my mother to look at.

She is never spoken about in this house. They tell me that it will be easier if I don’t think about her.

It is strange though, isn’t it? That I know nothing about my own mother?

But they don’t know about the diary I’ve found up in the loft. Maybe they even forgot it was there. It doesn’t matter anymore if they won’t tell me anything. Because within these pages is what I’ve waited fourteen years to find out. And maybe some things I wish I could forget.

All I wanted was to bring our family closer together, but could what I find tear us apart instead?

A heartbreaking and powerful novel about family secrets and how we live with decisions we never thought we would have to make. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Kate Hewitt and Amanda Prowse.

Description:

‘A heart-wrenching drama… an emotional rollercoaster with twists along the way… I read this in four hours and I know you’ll be hooked too.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Nobody talks about my mother. Absolutely nobody. I have no idea what she was like. I’d always thought they kept quiet about her because they were sad. But what if it was because they were guilty?

I watch them at the school gates, all the mothers with their daughters. I see the hugs and all those thoughtful little adjustments to scarves and ponytails. How their love seems to overflow, they have so much of it to give.

And then I walk home to my aunt’s cold house, where there are a hundred rules for me to follow and only a single photograph of my mother to look at.

She is never spoken about in this house. They tell me that it will be easier if I don’t think about her.

It is strange though, isn’t it? That I know nothing about my own mother?

But they don’t know about the diary I’ve found up in the loft. Maybe they even forgot it was there. It doesn’t matter anymore if they won’t tell me anything. Because within these pages is what I’ve waited fourteen years to find out. And maybe some things I wish I could forget.

All I wanted was to bring our family closer together, but could what I find tear us apart instead?

A heartbreaking and powerful novel about family secrets and how we live with decisions we never thought we would have to make. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Kate Hewitt and Amanda Prowse.

My Thoughts

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Thanks to the author, and Bookoture for my kindle version of this wonderful, heartbreaking book in review for my own honest review.

This story has it all, heartbreak, gripping, emotional and even had me crying!

Dani lives with her aunt, her mother died when she was 4 years old, she doesnt remember much of what happened. Now as a young teenager she finds her mothers diary in the attic, and she doesnt know what secrets this holds, soon she learns the truth about her mothers death that has been kept from her after all the years, shes not sure who she can trust anymore, But when she starts finding out shocking family secrets, she wonders if she’s done the right thing…… Then, she sets off to uncover the final bits to her story.  But by doing so, she discovers more than she could have ever imagined……

This book had me gripped from the first page to the last, between Dani and her mothers diary this kept me hooked. I felt sorry for Dani, as she finally learns the truth of her mothers death she realises that her Aunt and father are cold and distant.

About the author

Ali decided she wanted to be a writer early on and wrote her first novel when she was at primary school. She did an English degree and spent her early twenties working in various jobs in journalism, including as a reporter for the show business newspaper The Stage. She started writing fiction in earnest after getting married, moving out of London to the Oxfordshire market town of Abingdon and starting a family. She has two children, a daughter and a son who is autistic and was diagnosed when he was four years old. 


Ali is fascinated by families, their myths and secrets, and the forces that hold them together, split them up and (sometimes) bring them back together again. She always travels with tissues and a book and has been known to cry over a good story but is also a big fan of the hopeful ending. 

Author Social Media Links:

For updates and pictures,

follow Ali on Twitter (@AlisonLMercer)

Instagram (@alimercerwriter),

Facebook page (AliMercerwriter)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s